Literary hangover.

Firstly, I thought the Winter Carnival was the separate peace the book was talking about. And then I got to the end, well, almost,  and Finny was the separate peace. And then Mr. Knowles kills Finny with his own bone marrow. Then again maybe I shouldn’t point fingers at Mr. Knowles because it wasn’t him who entered Finny’s bloodstream and stopped Finny’s heart.

How is it that a clean break killed Phineas altogether? Is that supposed to be a metaphor? Like it’s just you deluding yourself to thinking things are under your control when in fact they are not? You think this life, your life, is in your grasp, that you’re holding it tightly however, some parts are still slipping away through the cracks. Slowly, then all at once. (No, this is not Hazel Grace of The Fault In Our Stars falling in love with Augustus. That’s another story.)

I have bits of Gene in my genes (did I just write that); I also have “some ignorance inside me, some crazy thing inside me, something blind”. At some point I’d act on impulse and I’d push people away. Which is both good and otherwise, depends.

I have highlighted more on my book but I’m only writing Gene and Finn’s lines, the former from page 85, the latter from page 191.

…and I lost part of myself to him then, and a soaring sense of freedom revealed that this must have been my purpose from the first: to become a part of Phineas.

I believe you. It’s okay because I understand and I believe you. You’ve already shown me and I believe you.

In the book, it’s also written that nothingㅡnot a tree, or love, or death by violenceㅡendures. And something the author says, that it’s a story of “growth through tragedy”. Nice would be an understatement.

What are your thoughts on this?

