Day 16: Make a writing prompt your own.

Today’s Daily Prompt: Do you have a reputation? What is it, and where did it come from? Is it accurate? What do you think about it?

Scenario: First day in primary school.

Classmate 1: Hi I’m [insert name here]. What’s your name? Let’s be friends.
Me: (inside my head ▷▷ she’s talking to me she really is what do I say now should I say my name first no I probably should say hi back then my name yeah no she might change her mind about being my friend if I say that I might sound like a boring person blah blah blah)
Me: …
Classmate 1: Uh… okay. Bye.

Because I let you in my head, I’m guessing your impression of me in that particular scenario is either inarticulate or overthinker or just shocked to dumbness.

However, during that first day people thought otherwise.

She’s a snob, that’s what they thought. I’ve encountered people whose first impression is that, end of conversation. They say it’s because I don’t initiate the conversation and that when I start to speak, my voice sounds too strong that for someone with a small frame it’s scary. They say it’s my eyebrow raised to the heavens. I say they’re arched that way. Must be genetics.

I believe first impressions, in my case, don’t last. Eventually, surpassing my dark vibe, those people became friends, some acquaintances.

P.S. This was drafted last week, and I’m publishing it just now. I know I have some catching up to do with Zero to Hero. Anyway, if you’ve got spare time, do comment below on your first impression of me. Thanks for reading! 🙂

What are your thoughts on this?

