“When I make a bad decision, I am not just hurting myself or people around me – I am hurting the person who loves me the most, my Creator. Sometimes this has brought me to tears because I know that He will love me in spite of this, and not just because I love him, but because He is God and He is love. He loves me even when by my choices, I have not always loved him back.”

 

“But perhaps what keeps me going in my faith is that this choice that I make, comes with grace – which is a free gift of God, and in this gift I find that it is not I who chose God but God who chooses me.”

 

Thought Catalog

Earlier, Matt Sacaro, wrote a piece Why I Wish I Could Be Religious. I loved the piece because it seemed like a sincere perspective by the author and one that I can appreciate. However, with great respect to the author, I have to disagree with what seems like a misguided assumption of what it means to be religious or a person of faith. I can’t speak for all persons of faith, I never have and I never will, because in the first place as institutional as religion can be, it is also a very personal experience.

I was born and raised Catholic and continue to be a practicing Catholic; the likelihood is that I will die one. My parents have gone to daily mass for as long as I can remember, they were always involved in church in one way or the other, and to this day, they are…

View original post 853 more words

What are your thoughts on this?

